Primary tabs

Dover Quartet w/ Richard Woodhams, oboe
Oct 20
Live PerformanceLive PerformanceMusicMusic

Dover Quartet w/ Richard Woodhams, oboe

See Event Description
“Few young American ensembles are as exciting and accomplished as the Dover Quartet” (New Yorker). This must-see foursome with ties to the Curtis Institute returns to Philadelphia with a piece that PCMS commissioned in 2005: William Bolcom’s Serenata Notturna, originally written for Richard Woodhams and the Guarneri Quartet. Surrounding Bolcom’s quintet are two pieces that allow us to experience music in connection with its most human and natural purposes: movement and dance. Tchaikovsky’s Quartet in D Major brings to life many of the elements of his trademark ballet music, and Bartók’s epically masterful Quartet No. 1 exhibits many different forms of human movement, from the funeral-dirge first movement to the last movement’s lively and jovial Hungarian folk music. Tchaikovsky: Quartet in D Major, Op. 11 Bolcom: Serenata Notturna Bartók: Quartet No. 1